Upcoming Events
Academy Home

Event Information

HEN Webinar: Food Security and Access During Coronavirus: A Vermont Study

Date: June 4, 2020

  • Location: Webinar
Date: Thursday, June 4, 2020
Time: 9:00 a.m. PT | 10:00 a.m. MT | 11:00 a.m. CT |  12:00 p.m. ET
Speaker:
  • Dr. Meredith T. Niles, Assistant Professor, UVM Nutrition & Food Sciences
  • Dr. Farryl Bertmann, RDN, HEN Education Chair, Senior Lecturer, UVM Nutrition & Food Sciences
  • Dr. Emily H. Morgan, UVM Nutrition & Food Sciences

1 CPEU Pending
 
Registration Fees:
  • HEN Member: Complimentary
  • PHCNPG Member: Complimentary
  • Academy Member: $20
  • Non Academy Member: $25
 
Coronavirus’ impact in the US was perhaps most immediately apparent in our food system. Long before hospitals were overwhelmed and stay at home orders were in place, grocery shelves were empty, and toilet paper had disappeared. These new purchasing behaviors were a precursor for longer-term food system impacts, which are already materializing. Social distancing measures have led to a surge in unemployment and an increase in the number of people who experience food insecurity. The food system impacts of the coronavirus are myriad and span from our agricultural systems to our public health system. Understanding how eating behaviors, purchasing habits, and food availability has changed and will continue to shift after the coronavirus, as well as the food system implications of these outcomes for farmers, public health, and our environment are critical to envisioning a more resilient future.

We will share findings from a Vermont survey conducted shortly after the WHO declared that coronavirus is a pandemic. From a total of 3,251 respondences, we will provide general results regarding food access and security, the impact of coronavirus on Vermonters experiencing food security, as well as the impact of public health measures on employment and food in Vermont. The webinar will be presented by Dr. Meredith T. Niles, Assistant Professor, UVM Nutrition & Food Sciences, Dr. Farryl Bertmann, RDN, HEN Education Chair, Senior Lecturer, UVM Nutrition & Food Sciences, and Dr. Emily H. Morgan, UVM Nutrition & Food Sciences.

Single Registration

Selected Items

0 Items:
0.00 Total:

view | check out

Copyright © 2014 Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.  All rights reserved.