Upcoming Events
Academy Home

Event Information

Digestive Diseases Nutrition Series 2020, Hosted by DIGID, a Subunit of the Dietitians in Medical Nutrition Therapy DPG

Date: November 8 - 12, 2020

  • Location: Webinar
Join us November 8th - 12th for the first annual Digestive Diseases Nutrition Series. This virtual event will be hosted by Dietitians in Gluten and Gastrointestinal Disorders (DIGID), a sub-unit of Dietitians in Medical Nutrition Therapy (DMNT) dietetic practice group, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (https://www.dmntdpg.org/). The event includes 5 presentations on topics ranging from constipation to probiotics, and IBD to NAFLD.
 
Time: 7:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. EST/6:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m. CST/5:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. MST/4:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. PST
 
 
Sunday, 
November 8
Probiotics: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly
 Emily Haller, MS, RDN, and Amanda Lynett, RDN
 
Monday, November 9
Using Diet as Therapy for IBD: MD and RD Perspectives
 Kelly Issokson, MS, RD, CNSC, and Eric Vasiliauskas, MD
 
Tuesday, November 10
Approaches for Treatment and Management for NAFLD and IFALD
Neha Shah, MPH, RD, CNSC, CHES, and Carol Ireton-Jones, PhD, RDN, LD, CNSC, FAND, FASPEN

Wednesday, November 11
Unresponsive IBS and Troubleshooting the Low FODMAP Diet
Emma Halmos, PhD, APD

Thursday, November 12
Constipation Is Complicated: Understanding Constipation Sub-types, Nutrition and Physical Therapy Interventions
Kate Scarlata, MPH, RDN, and Caryn Phillips, PT, DPT
 
 
Learning Objectives
  • Increase knowledge on a variety of gastrointestinal-related nutrition topics.   
  • Discuss benefits and risks related to probiotic use
  • Explain evidence supporting diet therapy in helping people with IBD achieve and maintain remission.
  • Recognize risk factors and causes of constipation; summarize beneficial treatments utilized by interdisciplinary team members for constipation.
  • Address difficulties and limitations of application of the low FODMAP diet; review alternative treatments for IBS.
  • Understand normal liver physiology; define NAFLD and IFALD; assess and identify patients at risk; and summarize evidence-based nutrition interventions that may assist in the management of these conditions.
 
CPE Program Level:
Level 2: General knowledge of literature and professional practice in areas covered.
 
 
Registration Fees: 
 
 Membership Type Early Bird*Standard
 DMNT Members$49$59 
 DMNT Student Members$10$10 
 Academy Members$89$99 
 Academy Student Members$29 $29 
 Non-Academy Members$119 $129 
 
*Early Bird cut-off is Wednesday, September 30

Single Registration

Selected Items

0 Items:
0.00 Total:

view | check out

Copyright © 2014 Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.  All rights reserved.