Upcoming Events
Academy Home

Event Information

HEN-NOBIDAN: Virtual Film Feastival 2020

Date: October 6, 2020

  • Location:
HEN DPG and NOBIDAN MIG Joint Film Feastival 2020
 
DATE:  Tuesday, October 6, 2020
TIME:  4:00 p.m. PT | 5:00 p.m. MT | 6:00 p.m. CT |  7:00 p.m. ET
FILM:  Arc of Justice by Helen S. Cohen and Mark Lipman
PANELISTS: 
Shirley Sherrod, Executive Director, Southwest Georgia Project for Community Education, Inc., and former
Georgia State Director of Rural Development for the United States Department of Agriculture
Monica White, PhD, Assistant Professor of Environmental Justice at the University of Wisconsin, Madison and author of Freedom Farmers: Agricultural Resistance and the Black Freedom Movement
Helen S. Cohen, Director and Producer of Open Studio Productions and the Arc of Justice film
1.25 CPEU Pending

REGISTRATION FEES:
HEN Professional Member:  $15
NOBIDAN Professional Member:  $15
Academy Professional Member:  $20
Academy Student Member:  $0
Non Academy Member:  $25

Please join the Hunger and Environmental Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group (HEN DPG) and the National Organization of Blacks in Dietetics and Nutrition Member Interest Group (NOBIDAN MIG) for their joint Film Feastival 2020. This year's featured film is the "Arc of Justice" by Helen S. Cohen and Mark Lipman.  The film traces the remarkable journey of New Communities, Inc. and the struggle for racial justice and economic empowerment among African Americans in southwest Georgia.  This exciting event will highlight the theme: “Dismantling Racism in the Food System.”  We jointly feel that in the wake of recent racial unrest and historical and ongoing racial injustice, we must recognize and work to end racism in our food system. 
 
IMPORTANT:  As we near the event, you will receive an email confirmation with the Zoom link for the Feastival as well as the URL link to the film .  Please view the film previous to the Feastival and come prepared for a thought provoking presentation and discussion.  

Single Registration

Selected Items

0 Items:
0.00 Total:

view | check out

Copyright © 2014 Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.  All rights reserved.